On having a rhythm

Hello readers,


Side note: sorry I have not written in a while; I have had a busy few weeks with moving and enjoying the awesome weather we are having at the moment. Honestly, I’ve been quite good recently. I think part of that is the weather, but also I feel like I’m coping a lot better with daily life. I’m not doing anything amazing or outstanding, but I feel like I’m doing something.

Anyway, onto todays musings. 


Bullet journals give me so much satisfaction. Mmm.

People and routine

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about how people react to routine. For some, routine is too rigid – things can be done whenever, and having a lack of flexibility is stifling. On the other end of the scale, some people need a routine to keep themselves sane. They need to know what they are doing each day, what they need to achieve and will feel upset if they don’t complete their routine. I think I’m somewhere in the middle…probably nearer to the set routine end.

I like to know what is going to happen. I hate uncertainty, so having a list of activities for a week gives me reassurance that I’m not forgetting anything important. However, I also have commitment issues, so if I have a set meeting or activity, I can often feel unsettled, like I’m constrained to something I don’t actually want to do.

In regards to my mental health, I think having a routine is important. I can get lost in my thoughts and think I have too much to do, so writing down a list of tasks for a week and spreading them across seven days really helps lower my stress levels.

Image credit: Frida Be Mighty

Rhythm in the home

I started learning about rhythms from the perspective of parents. Whilst I don’t have any children, I am interested in child development, so I follow a lot of mums on social media that I look up to in how they raise their children. One of these women wrote an article about how she implemented a daily rhythm into her household for her two-year-old daughter, after noticing her being upset and grouchy when she didn’t know what to expect next. Using a picture-based timetable, she updates their daily rhythm accordingly, based on what activities they have planned that week and the season they are in. Season could mean weather, the age of the child or how moods are overall in the household.

Now, whilst I don’t have a cute picture timetable on my fridge, I admire the thought and process she has put into creating a sense of security but also openness with a daily rhythm. Many of the tasks she writes are not explicit; good examples are ‘craft’ or ‘family time’. These give open exploration of the activity, but also gives a set name to the actions they are doing.

 

Me after a bath

Implementing my daily rhythm

So, how can I, as a 23-year-old childless women create a daily rhythm? First, I’m starting to properly listen to my inner thoughts and how my mood changes throughout the week. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

  • Mondays are tiring.  New work week, new set of things to think about.
  • By Wednesday I’m more active. I usually book activities such as Physio and Pilates after work on Wednesday or Thursday.
  • Friday is winding down time. Whether travelling back home or easing into a quiet weekend, my brain knows I have time to relax so I usually get chores done on a Friday.

Then, I can begin to think about activities I want to have in my daily rhythm which I currently don’t have:

  • Bath time – I have baths occasionally but I don’t spend much time in them. I think I have too much to do!
  • 20 minute workout – this shouldn’t be hard to find time for.
  • One-on-one time with my SO – we see each other everyday but often we do our own thing. I want time for just the two of us; no phones or distractions!
  • Making breakfast – I want to spend time making myself a filling breakfast. I assume I don’t have the time so go for something easy, which isn’t always good.
  • Pilates – I do pilates once a week at work, but I also go to classes at a centre outside of work. As of now, I don’t like the time of my class (Monday at 6pm) because I’m usually too tired after work and just want to go home.

This is just the beginning of my list. I’m noticing a pattern here of self-care. I lack time in my day to care for just me, and only think about me. All of these activities would improve my mental health, so I know I need to work them into my routine.

I wish I could do leg lifts like this corgi.

Getting started on my rhythm

First steps to accomplishing those daily tasks:

  • Bath time – set aside 15-20 mins three times a week to have a good, long bath. Do this after I’ve had tea and am winding down for the night. Preferably on Mondays when I’m in most need of ‘me’ time.
  • 20 minute workout – pencil this in for later on in the week, possibly Wednesday, before having tea.
  • One-on-one time with SO – talk to SO about schedule for the week and agree on an evening where we will spend quality time together.
  • Making breakfast – ensure I have the ingredients in the house to make fuller breakfasts and start cooking at 8am so I have time to cook, clean and eat before leaving for work.
  • Pilates – change classes to one later in the week and later on in the evening. This gives me time to eat and relax before heading back outside.

So, I have the answers, I have a list of things to add to my rhythm. I hope I can start to consciously implement these changes because I know from just reading them I know these are small changes with big impact.

I’ll keep you updated on how it goes!

—TS

Leave a comment